NZSL Awards Past Winners

2018 awards

  • NZSL in the Media: Sara Pivac Alexander, Learn NZSL
  • NZSL in Health: Natasha Jumelet, Deaf Wellbeing Society
  • NZSL in Early Childhood Education: Joint winners, Bridget Warmouth and Casa Nova Kindergarten 
  • NZSL in Schools: Redwood Primary School 
  • NZSL Employer: Andy Firth, Paul Kelly Motors
  • NZSL Teaching: Susie Ovens
  • NZSL Accessible Service: Coffee Educators Ltd
  • Interpreter of the Year: Angela Murray 
  • NZSL in Sports: Clive Morgan 
  • NZSL in the Arts: Laura Haughey, Equal Voices
  • NZSL in Government Agencies: Nick Linton, Fire and Emergency NZ
  • Supreme Long-standing Service Award: Lynette Pivac
  • Supreme Long-standing Service Award: Lesley Carmichael 
  • Youth Champion: Katherine Hickson
  • Māori Champion: Jared Flitcroft
  • NZSL Champion: Josje Lelijveld

You can watch the awards ceremony as it was streamed live on Facebook here:
Part 1 Available Here
Part 2 Available Here

2017 - The awards were not held this year

2016 awards

  • NZSL in Schools: St Theresa's School, Plimmerton
  • NZSL Employer: CQ Hotels Wellington
  • NZSL in the Media: Lisa Thompson
  • NZSL in Health: Rachel Coppage, CDMHP
  • NZSL Teaching: Nirvana May
  • NZSL Accessible Service: CQ Hotels Wellington
  • NZSL Interpreter of the Year: Scott Williams
  • NZSL in Early Childhood Education: Yoshie Akasaka
  • Youth Champion: Matthew Flynn
  • Maori Champion: Joanne Klaver
  • NZSL Champion: Stephen Hooker

2015 awards

  • NZSL Teaching Award: Karla Smith
  • NZSL in ECE Award: Hillpark Kindergarten
  • NZSL in Schools Award: Te Kura Kaupapa  Māori o Ngāti Ruanui
  • NZSL in the Media Award: Pickled Possum Productions
  • Magnet Youth Award: Eric Matthew
  • Maori Sign Champion Award: Patrick Thompson
  • NZSL in Health Award: Health Promotion Agency
  • NZSL Employer Award: Co-Ed Educators and Coffee Shop
  • NZSL Accessible Service Award: Auckland Council
  • NZSL Interpreter of the Year Award: Lynx
  • NZSL Champion Award: TeachSign Project Team

2014 awards

2013 awards

2012 awards

2011 awards

  • NZSL Champion Award: Lee Ann Rose
  • Interpreter of the Year Award: Evelyn Pateman and Jeremy Borland (joint winners)
  • Māori Signs Champion Award: Bonnie Ormsby
  • NZSL In Schools Award: Titahi Bay School
  • NZSL Teaching Award: Kay Hunia
  • Public Service Award: New Zealand Fire Service
  • NZSL Accessible Award: Tiaho Trust

2010 awards

  • NZSL Champion Award: Bridget Ferguson
  • Interpreter of the Year Award: Alan Wendt
  • Māori Signs Champion Award: No entries received
  • NZSL In Schools Award: Paparoa Ranges School
  • NZSL Teaching Award: Lisa Shand (New Plymouth)
  • Public Service Award: Constable Deborah Leahy, New Zealand Police
  • NZSL Accessible Award: The Learning Connexion, Wellington

2009 awards

This was the first year of the NZSL Awards!

  • NZSL Champion Award: Brent Macpherson
  • Interpreter of the Year Award: Delys Magill
  • Māori Signs Champion Award: Richard Peri
  • NZSL In Schools Award: St Pius X School
  • NZSL Teaching Award: Sara Pivac Alexander
  • Public Service Award: Christchurch City Council
  • NZSL Accessible Award: Department of Conservation (Blenheim)

South Island award winners

  • Interpreter of the Year Award: Elisabeth Kay
  • NZSL In Schools Award: Garin College
  • NZSL Teaching Award: Carol Smith

Service awards

Special recognition of three key people who have given considerable commitment and passion to the advancement of NZSL within NZ were awarded these awards:

  • Long Standing Service Award – North Island: Shona McGhie
  • Long Standing Service Award – South Island: Patty Still
  • Supreme Long Standing Service Award: Rachel McKee